Cooperative Weed Management Areas


A Cooperative Invasive Species Management Area (CISMA) or a Cooperative Weed Management Area (CWMA) is a partnership of federal, state, and local government agencies, tribes, individuals, and various interested groups that manage invasive species (or weeds) in a defined area.

CISMAs and CWMAs share six basic characteristics. They:

  • Operate within a defined geographic area, distinguished by a common geography, weed problem, community, climate, political boundary, or land use;
  • Involve a broad cross-section of landowners and natural resource managers within its defined boundaries; Are governed by a Steering Committee;
  • Make a long-term commitment to cooperation, usually through a formal agreement among partners;
  • Have a comprehensive plan that addresses the management or prevention of invasive species within its boundaries; and
  • Facilitate cooperation and coordination across jurisdictional boundaries.

These groups bring together local citizens, landowners, non-profit organizations, industry, and city, county, state, tribal, and federal representatives to work towards a common goal—effective control of invasive species.

CISMA/CWMA Resources

How to Create and Sustain a CISMA/CWMA

CWMAs may have different names in different parts of the country - for example, Partnerships for Regional Invasive Species Management (PRISMs) in New York or Cooperative Invasive Species Management Areas (CISMAs) in Florida.

National CWMA Map

Click Here to add your CWMA to the map. To update your information or to add a list of CWMAs for your state, e-mail us at: